Certified Floodplain Surveyor (CFS) Program

This certification program educates surveyors on the forms and processes associated with floodplain properties and the submital of Elevation Certificates. To become CFS certified, licensed surveyors must successfully complete the three-day certification seminar and exam. PDH's are awarded for the seminar, however no PDH credit is given for the exam. The specific topics covered in the course are: National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), FIRM Maps, NFIP Regulations and Elevation Certificates, Letters of Map Correction and Letters of Map Correction Processing. There are currently over 200 CFS Certified Surveyors in the state as this certification has become more popluar with recent floodplain/form changes. NCSS offers annually for surveyors seeking to add this certification to their resume.

CFS Contacts

NC NFIP Coordinator
Dan Brubaker
dan.brubaker@ncdps.gov

NC FMP Program Director
John Dorman
jdorman@ncem.org

NCFMP Program Manager
Tonda Shelton
tshelton@ncem.org

Flood Risk Information System
Stacey Bobbitt
stacey.bobbitt@ncdps.gov

GIS and LiDAR Data
Hope Morgan
hope.morgan@ncdps.gov

Letter of Map Change
Steve Garrett
steve.garrett@ncdps.gov
John Gerber
jgerber@ncem.org

NFIP Engineering
Dan Brubaker
dan.brubaker@ncdps.gov

NFIP Outreach & Training
Randy Mundt
randy.mundt@ncdps.gov

NFIP Planners
Milton Carpenter (Piedmont region)
milton.carpenter@ncdps.gov
Terry Foxx (Western region)
terry.foxx@ncdps.gov

FEMA National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)
FEMA Map Help

CFS Resources

CFS Certified Surveyors

Click HERE to view a list of CFS Certified Surveyors.

CFS Study Guide

If you are preparing for the CFS Certification Course and Exam, the following link will be helpful to you:
CFS Study Guide

Specifically, review and become familiar with the NFIP Regulations. The terms and guidelines outlined in those are woven throughout the course and this will help you to maximize the preparatory class time.